Tears and Fears of Near Unemployment

Most of us by now can all understand the depressing roller coaster that is unemployment, and because I decided to document my broke-ass journey, your all aware of mine. For the past two and a half months I’ve been working at a clothing store that I’ve really come to enjoy, and would be quite upset if I had to leave. Naturally, yesterday at work, this almost became my reality. After a long day at work my boss (who hasn’t spoken to me all day) approaches me with a serious face and tells me we need to talk in the back room. Immediately, my face goes red at the prospect of getting in trouble and I get very nervous (because I have the emotional capacity of a toddler). As we enter the back room, he shuts the door and turns to me with the most serious face I’ve ever seen and says “I just want to say thanks for all your hard work, I appreciate it, but you can go now, thanks”. Let me tell you something about myself, I’m a crier. I’m a blubbering baby who one time had puffy eyes for the four following days after watching The Notebook. I cry during Tim Horton’s commercials. I cry when I run out of almond milk. Now that you’re starting to understand…after my boss is done talking, my eyes begin to fill up with tears and he looks at me very confused. “Whats wrong with you?! I only wanted to ask you if I could extend your shift later”, I begin to cry, because “I THOUGHT I WAS GETTING FIRED!” At this point, he is extremely bewildered with my reaction and is actually laughing at how pathetic I am crying in the back room, to clearly what is not me being fired. At this point, I’m as red as a god damn sunburn and my eyes are leaking tears of straight embarrassment and shame, as I know how he will tell every single employee about my overreaction. I feel like the universe is testing me and I’m constantly failing. So there you have it, my near run in with unemployment is now over and done with and for the next few weeks until I do something even more stupid and embarrassing (which is only a matter of time, we all know) I will be teased about being the basket-case girl who can’t make it through a conversation with her boss. I still have a job though…so YOLO?

2 thoughts on “Tears and Fears of Near Unemployment

Leave a Reply

