Interview Mishap

For my first post ever I thought I would start with an embarrassing story, what better way to introduce myself to the blogging world than that. Recently, I had an interview with a high end retail store in downtown Toronto. While securing this interview on the phone I decided to ‘memorize’ all of the directions instead of write them down which where in lies my issue. On that lovely Saturday morning I arrived at the office, rode up the escalator and proceeded into the elevator to go to the fifth floor. On my ride up, the elevator stops between floors, with pre interview nerves already in place this wasn’t a great start to my morning. I embarrassingly call my potential future employer and tell him Im stuck in the elevator, he tells me that I have gone into an elevator that  I needed security clearance to be in, and that he will try to get me out. One minute later I arrive at floor five and meet my potential boss, who does not crack a smile at my embarrassing first impression and proceeds straight to the interview. Believe it or not, the interview did go well, and I was invited back for a second where I then joked about taking the stairs next time, to which he once again did not crack a smile. I didn’t get the job. I am still unemployed.

One thought on “Interview Mishap

Leave a Reply

